We are proud to announce the following scholarship recipients for 2012.

Kenny Fortunato Memorial Award

Desmond Leigh

Montclair State University

Larry Hollander Humanitarian Award

Danna Cooperberg

Northwestern University

Lars Johansson Montclair High School Scholarship Award

Daniel Cano

Muhlenberg College

Mackenze Genauer

Trinity College

William R. McClellan Award

Helen Laser

Muhlenberg College

John J. McMullen Award

Anna Mazarakis

Princeton University

Bradley A. Richards Memorial Scholarship

Anne Kim


Gary W. Schultz Scholarship

Silas Kezengwa

Montclair State University

Joe Walsh Award

Sam Skinner

Purchase College

Thanks to the generosity of many alumni, coupled with the extraordinary contributions of a few, the Alumni Association has been able to establish eight annual scholarships:

  • The John J. McMullen Award
  • The Bradley A. Richards Award
  • The Joe Walsh Award
  • The William R. McClellan Award
  • The MHS Alumni Award
  • Friends and Family of Larry Hollander '52

The McMullen Award, a $12,000.00 annual four-year award to each recipient, funded by the McMullen Family Foundation, is the highest award at Montclair High School. John McMullen, a 1936 graduate of MHS, hoped that this award will inspire MHS students to strive for excellence and success in the future. The other awards not only honor the memory of outstanding and revered Montclair residents, but also present an opportunity to recognize a diverse range of achievement at MHS. In the past five years alone, we have awarded a total of $240,000 to deserving seniors. We expect to continue and expand the scholarship program as the Alumni Association grows.